LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Lawmakers are being chosen to lead the Republican-controlled Michigan Legislature starting next year. Returning senators and senators-elect on Thursday elected Sen. Mike Shirkey of Clarklake to lead the Republican caucus from 2019 through 2022. Sen. Jim Ananich of Flint will continue leading Democrats. House leaders for the coming two-year term will be picked in the afternoon. Three of the four current top legislative leaders are leaving office due to term limits.