By Mike Kruzman /

A local bank has announced 15 winners of college scholarships and classroom grants.

First National Bank has selected their 2021 Community Scholarship recipients. Ten scholarships of $1,000 have been awarded to selected Livingston County high school seniors for helping in continuing their academic or vocational education. Community Scholarship selection criteria focuses on dedicated and proven community service participation, recommendation letters, recognition of any challenges that may have been overcome on the way to graduation, and academics. A GPA of 3.0 or greater is required.

Additionally, First National Bank provided 5 $500 Teacher Classroom grants- one to a deserving teacher in each of the five Livingston County school districts. Classroom grants were selected from among student applications and based on the question answered regarding how a teacher has impacted their learning experience.

To date, First National Bank has provided nearly $300,000 in scholarships and grants to local students and educators since they began the program.
The 2021 First National Bank Community Scholarship Program recipients, each receiving a $1,000 scholarship, are:

Christopher Boggs, Brighton, Central Michigan University
Matthew Michael, Brighton, Michigan State University
Meredith Frank, Howell, Hofstra University
Ben Hibbard, Howell, Cleary University
Cole Her, Howell, Eastern Michigan University
Tylor Bigos, Fowlerville, Lansing Community College
James Anderson, Fowlerville, Alma College
Elizabeth Bozio, Hartland, Michigan State University
Makayla Killup, Hartland, Grand Valley State University
Olivia Ohmer, Pinckney, Adrian College

Teacher Classroom Grant Recipients
Each Receiving $500
Beverly Kanka, Pinckney
Jamie Riley, Hartland
Jason Donoghue, Fowlerville
Jennifer Hibbard, Howell
Lisa Carpenter (Brighton)